A Yummy New Recipe

In my Quest 2B Me, I am trying to do a better job of preparing meals for the family.  I have always done a pretty good job of that, until this summer.  We had such a fun-filled summer of fun at the pool and with other activities that on most nights we just ate a light dinner of BLTs, salads or something else. 

I think part of the reason that I was so easily pulled from my dinner making routine is because I was tired of hearing “YUCK!  Are we having that again!” from my husband or children.  So, I have been trying to find, or come up with, some new recipes.

Courtney, over at Women Living Well, posted this recipe (with pictures) on her blog a couple of weeks ago.  I thought I would give it a try and my family LOVED it!  We devoured every last bite on our plates, except for my oldest who still has an aversion to veggies…but, he didn’t complain about the meal which is a good sign.

It was such a hit that I thought I would share the recipe with all of you.  It’s easy to make and very tasty!  It’s even better when served with some garlic bread and a glass of milk.  Enjoy!

Bow Tie Pasta with Italian Sausage and Vegetables
5 Sweet Italian sausage links
1 16 oz farfalle (bow tie) pasta
3 Tbsp olive oil
3 cloves of garlic minced
1 onion sliced into wedges
1 zucchini cut
15 cherry tomatoes halved
salt and pepper as desired

Place Italian sausage onto a skillet with approx 1 cup of water. Cook through on med-high heat. While sausage is cooking, start pasta. When sausage is done, remove and slice into coins. Keep remaining drippings from the sausage and add the olive oil and minced garlic to the skillet. Sauté the garlic on med-low for 2 mins, do not brown. Add sliced veggies and sauté for approx 5 mins. Mix the sliced sausage with veggies in the skillet. Add cooked and drained pasta to skillet and toss with all other ingredients. Add salt and pepper to taste. Top with Parmesan cheese.

Note – this makes a very large pot of pasta.  If you are cooking for one or two, you will probably want to cut the recipe in half.

Do you have a delicious, healthy recipe of your own?  Please share it!

This entry was posted in Family, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A Yummy New Recipe

  1. simplydiane says:

    Sounds delicious. Going to give it a try. Thanks for sharing. Diane

Leave a comment