Thank you to the village

It has been waaaayyyy too long since my last post.  There have been deadlines to meet, carpets to clean, drapes to wash, sporting, scouting and school events to attend, etc.  It seems like life is swallowing me up sometimes.  People say to me all the time…”Jen, I don’t know how you get it all done.”

The truth is…I don’t really (check my closets and under the kids’ beds!) but what I do get done has a lot to do with the amount of help we get from my family.   

Dad & Little Bird

My dad and his "little bird"

The proverbial “They” say that “it takes a village to raise a family” and in our case, that is so very true.  Just in the past week alone my mother came to stay with us for a couple of days to keep an eye on little ones so I could clean the carpets.  Then my father came along with us to a scouting event in order to keep an eye on his “little bird”, as he likes to call her, so that my husband and I could volunteer at the event.  Yesterday, my sister came to babysit so that I could go to school for my oldest son’s parent visitation day and tomorrow my mom will be here again so that I can do the same for our middle son.

Mom & our baby girl

My mom and her favorite granddaughter

It amazes me all the time that we have such wonderful family members that are willing to take time out of their busy schedules in order to help us!  I honestly have no idea how other people do it. 

My sister playing with the boys.

I hope I remember to tell them thank you every time but just in case…Thank you!  The five of us are so thankful to have you in our lives!

This entry was posted in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thank you to the village

  1. denverlori says:

    You are very very lucky to have such a big support system… Very lucky!!

  2. Clayton(Dad) says:

    You’re very welcome. I consider it a blessing to be able to spend time with our grandkids, especially one-on-one. And don’t forget that you take a lot of your time and energy to help out “the village” when we need it. I am so glad that we are part of such a caring family.

Leave a Reply

