We’re Bored!

School is closed today, for teacher’s meetings, and I am already slipping into insanity.  It is 8:45 in the morning and the five children here with me (my 3, plus 2 others) have already run out of things to do, they are bored.  How is that possible?

I remember spending hours as a child in the backyard preparing meals of grass and weeds (spaghetti, salad, etc) for my Cabbage Patch dolls, setting up my version of various animal traps (an old milk crate held up by a stick with a rope tied around the end) or just creating masterpieces from various scraps of whatever I could find in the house or the garage.  If all else failed, I would disappear into a book I had picked up from the library or the latest Betty & Veronica comic book I was lucky enough to get my hands on.

What have we done to these children that they are unable to find creative ways to keep themselves busy? They woke up, had breakfast and immediately started in on a video game.  When I told them that their video game time was up (there were some heated debates going on) and that they needed to find something else to do, they looked at me like I had three heads.

They attempted to go outside but it is was too cold and wet.  They wanted to chase the dog around the house causing her to bark, jump on all the furniture and knock down the littlest ones of the bunch but, again…I had to put a stop to that.  So, after making many suggestions and being met with “MOM!  That is sooooo boring!!!”, I got fed up and gave them my “When I was a kid…!” speech and walked away. 

The funny thing is…even though I was met with rolling eyes and exasperated sighs, I think they heard me!  It’s amazing, I think they really heard me. 

All of the boys are now playing some sort of game they made up using the baseball cards my brother passed on to them this past Christmas.  They don’t know who any of the players are and have probably never seen so many cheesy, 80’s mustaches in one place, but they are having fun…for now! 

Do you remember how you spent your days off of school as a child?  What did you do to keep yourself entertained?

This entry was posted in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to We’re Bored!

  1. Clayton says:

    They have hundreds of Legos, and what about their soldiers and matchbox cars, etc. Tell them to get creative, Or how about a scavenger hunt? Tell them D-dad said to use their imagination. I know they have one!!! I’ve seen it in action!!!

  2. My theory was always that as long as there was an unread book around, I had no excuse to be bored.

    I agree with you– boredom isn’t a disease that a parent necessarily needs to treat. Learning to make their own kind of music is a critical step in growing.

  3. Michele says:

    I rememeber spending hours out on the front porch playing “Jacks” with my best friend. And when we were stuck in the house we would listen to my Partridge Family record album and sing (not very well) as though we were Keith and Lori Partridge in concert. HaHa Am I dating myself or what? Good times. I wish I could go back and do it all again.

  4. Laurie says:

    I always told my girls, “If you can’t find something to do, I will find something for you to do.” That sent them scurrying away, and they soon found plenty to do. They quickly learned that the things mom would come up with were usually more work than play.

  5. simplydiane says:

    My sister and I, along with our neighbor friends, played school when we were out of school. We were one wild bunch of kids!

Leave a Reply

