A Mother’s 10 Commandments

Girl Cleaning Up With Broom and Trash Bags

Image by Pink Sherbet Photography via Flickr

I was feeling a little stressed this morning and decided I could use a little mom comedy.  So, I thought I would share it with you, my faithful readers (translation – those of you that just have nothing better to do for the moment!). 

The following was printed on one of the fun little notes that my mother hid around the house for me while she was staying with us over the weekend. 

I thought this was perfect and should be read and signed by every member of the family.  I even considered, for a moment, that I should hang it on the wall, next to our list of family values but was afraid it would scare them all off.

  

Mom’s 10 Commandments for a Happy Household

  1. If you take it out, put it away.
  2. If you eat on it, wash it.
  3. If you turn it on, turn it off.
  4. If you mess it up, clean it up.
  5. If you drop it, pick it up.
  6. If it rings, answer it. (I am not sure I want my 6 year old doing this one!)
  7. If it barks, walk it.
  8. If you open it, close it.
  9. If I cook it, eat it. (I would like to tatoo this one on my oldest’s forehead!)
  10. If I say do it, don’t ask why. 

 

Wouldn’t it be nice if everyone obeyed Mom’s 10 Commandments?

Can you think of any other’s you’d like to add to the list?

This entry was posted in Family, Parenting, Weekend Funnies and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Mother’s 10 Commandments

  1. Kim Pugliano says:

    Consider it printed, copied and nailed to a wall in every room of my house. And for the record: If you pee in it, flush it, wipe it and close it.

    • jenkline75 says:

      Ooooh..I like that one. I have a sign that hangs over the toilet in my sons’ bathroom. It says “My aim is to keep this bathroom clean, your aim would help!”. 🙂

  2. This about wraps it up! I too am going to paste it to every wall in the house and highlight #7! They begged to get Barky Dog, made all the promises about feeding, scooping poop, etc. and now that he is here, guess who walks him! P.S. love the bathroom signs as well! Coming from a family of girls, this subject was a real shocker! 🙂

  3. simplydiane says:

    Oh, #9 is by far my favorite (although I love them all). Moms are great!

  4. Laurie says:

    I have seen this list before. Made me feel better to read it even though no one else seemed to read it. I would like to add one additional commandment – If I call you, come running, don’t just holler, “WHAT???”

Leave a Reply

