The Unattended Toddler

 

She is on a Quest 2B Her!

 

Something happened over the past few months.  I can’t really pinpoint the day it began but I can tell you that something definitely happened…   

 My sweet, adorable, angel-faced baby girl has become a…TODDLER! 

 She has been “officially” toddling since she was just a little over 10 months old, what an exciting and wonderful time.  She would take a few steps, fall down and then look at us with a smile and sense of pride just because she had commanded her body to propel itself forward in such a fascinating motion.  She is now almost 21 months old and is well on her way to the “Terrible Twos!”.  

This littlest blessing is our third child and you would think that we’d have the toddler experience all wrapped up in a neat little bow by now but that would be so far from the truth.  We have learned a few things along the way though.  My husband and I don’t stress over the little things like we used to and are much more laid back when it comes to the kids.  We have also learned the best ways to handle the sleep deprivation, tantrums, and stinky diapers.    

 The challenges we are experiencing this time around may be due to the fact that we are occasionally a little too laid back.  When our boys were little (especially our eldest) I had to know where they were every second and had to protect them from any and every possible harm that may have come their way.  I imagined the worst possible thing that could happen and then did everything to protect them from that possible (but not probable) danger.  They were never far from my sight and I always knew what they were doing.   With my daughter, well, let’s just say that there are a few unattended moments that pop up from time to time. 

Now, before everyone gets too upset, I am not referring to long periods of unsupervision or neglect.  I am talking about the few minutes it takes to run to the bathroom or even just the instances where I am in the other room washing dishes while she is watching the latest episode of Do-Do-Do-Do-Do-Dora…or so I thought! 

It is amazing what a toddler can accomplish in just a few minutes!  I could try to describe it to you with my usual flair for the descriptive but I figured that a picture is worth a thousand words,  so here are a few photos I snapped recently. 

Busted with her pacifier

 

We recently went to a system of only allowing her the pacifier while she is in her crib.  On this particular day, she snuck into her room, took it out of her crib and then attempted to hide on our bed in hopes that she wouldn’t be caught (she hasn’t gotten a good grasp of the hiding thing yet).  I’m not sure where she grabbed the hat in the process but I thought it was a nice touch. 

  

This girl can sleep anywhere...even on the dog bed!

 

This one wasn’t really due to an unattended toddler, more because of an unattended dad who wasn’t sure where else to put her when she fell asleep at a friends house while we were watching the football game.  I thought it was cute and worth sharing though! 

  

Our future fashionista

 

One of our latest challenges with the little one is that she has discovered how to open her dresser drawers.  She pulls out which ever item of clothing she can get a grip on and then puts it on in any way that she can.  In this photo she is sporting a bathing suit top, pajama pants, dress shoes and a tie dyed dress as a shawl.  This is good stuff!  Check out your next issue of Vogue magazine for a runway version of this outfit! 

Showing off her leg art.

 

And finally, the latest and greatest of her adventures.  If you ever wondered how creative a toddler can be with a blue ink pen, well then…just check out her legs.  She did this shortly before we were to get ready to leave for church on Sunday.  Let’s just say that she was wearing leggings under her dress that day!  I guess I really can’t complain, she didn’t color on the kitchen cabinets this time. 

This is just a small collection of the most recent toddler adventures here in our home.  Having been at this stage a couple of times before, I know that there will be many more to come in the next year or two.  The difference this time around is that I know, as frustrating as it can be, I need to enjoy them because they will be gone before we know it and then we will be left longing for just a glimpse back at the days of the little girl in her mismatched outfit and blue legs.  

What is your most memorable toddler moment with the child(ren) in your life?  

This entry was posted in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Unattended Toddler

  1. Clayton says:

    Aw!!!! That’s my “Little Bird”!!!!!!

  2. She is a doll! Oh my goodness…toddler moments to pick from…one that is standing out for this second is when my son (who was just under 2ish) walked right over to the fire place and yanked the whole screen out of the brick and all! Luckily it was brass and glass and not really my style so he actually helped me out! 😀

  3. Michele says:

    All that I can say is- Do you know how hard it is to clean gobs of vaseline off a tolddlers face and out of their hair? Several washings later you are still trying to get it out!!!

  4. Nick says:

    If only we took a picture of the time we hung our sister on the wall. I think she would even get a kick out of that now. It was only for a second but it was neat to see that it really did work just like on T.V.

  5. Metro DC Mom says:

    I love those last two pictures. My now 4 year old used to put on whatever clothes he could find. He also went through a phase where he preferred to wear his clothes backwards. Even now, if it’s too quiet, I’m likely to find him creating body art.

  6. Laurie says:

    I think this is one of your best posts yet. How did you get her to sit still enough to take these adorable pictures? Raising a daughter is a little different than raising boys.

    Can you hear me laughing?

  7. I have a “Happy Friday” surprise for you at http://simplysandwich.net/?p=919 !

  8. barefootlisa says:

    I remember the feeling of having that llllllllittle bit of freedom — to go off to the bathroom, even run downstairs for a minute to do the laundry! It comes in stages, no? I still wonder about how unattended my 3 1/2 yr can be, especially now when i’m nursing a little one and putting her to sleep. I figure if I can still hear him and he’s makin’ noise, it’s a good thing! Love your pictures — so darn cute!

  9. Nancy says:

    What darling pictures of Jenna! I hope you are keeping copies of all your posts and other writings. When the kids become adults they will enjoy reading “Mom’s ramblings” about them. It would be one of the nicest things you could do for them. A record of their childhood. How great is that?

Leave a Reply

