Crazy Bones, Mighty Beanz and Silly Bandz – Oh My!

Star Silly Bandz Macros July 09, 20101

Image by stevendepolo via Flickr

 

      If you have children, you know what I am talking about here.  The Silly Bandz craze began last spring, before the school year ended.  If you were under the age of 12, you weren’t “cool” unless you had at least a dozen or so of these rubber bands on your arm.  They were available in every color you could imagine, some would glow in the dark and some were scented.  You could get them in every shape imaginable and all for $3.50 per pack.        

crazy bones

Image by bumblesweet via Flickr

 

     Next were the Crazy Bones, or maybe they were first, it’s all a blur.  I never really understood these little guys.  They are short, stubby plastic forms, none of which are remotely attractive.  Again, they came in a rainbow of colors and even though there wasn’t much you could do with them, other than line them up and trade them with your friends, the kids loved them.  My son and his friends even had “races” with them in the pool by dropping them in the water to see which one sank to the bottom first.  They spent hours upon hours doing this over the summer.  A bag of four or five bones were all yours for about a $1.       

Description unavailable

Image by SuperSizeMe via Flickr

 

      The most recent craze we faced were those little, horribly unbalanced guys called Mighty Beanz.  Now, correct me if I am wrong, but didn’t we have a larger version of these things when we were growing up.  Has anyone heard of Weeble Wobbles?  And I’d have to say that the Weebles would kick tail against a Mighty Bean any day!  For a very frugal investment of $5 you could be the proud owner of 6 of these little guys.  Really?!?!?  $5 for six capsule-sized plastic eggs encasing a little metal ball??  What is wrong with these people?        

     I don’t even want to begin to think about how many dollars worth of little plastic trinkets we have sitting around this house in Ziploc bags.  I am sure we could pay for a cruise or one year of someone’s college education with the money spent.  The one good thing we have going for us is that this money didn’t come out of our pocket.  Our children ponied up their hard-earned allowance dollars for the majority of the stash.  The rest was given as birthday gifts or by me, on the rare occasion that I was feeling generous, and treated them to a $10 shopping spree at the local “Five Below” (sssshhhh, don’t tell my husband).        

    As annoyed as I am with the idea of peddling useless wares to the kiddies, I would really like to meet the people who came up with these ideas.  I would almost bet that they were not mothers (well maybe the silly bands, they are kind of cute).  No mother, knowing full well that she would be trekking all over town to find the stinkin’ things only to bring them home and spend months stepping on and over them, would ever send these sorts of creatures out into the world.        

     I think I am going to invent something to drive those wonderful inventors crazy.  Any ideas?        

This entry was posted in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crazy Bones, Mighty Beanz and Silly Bandz – Oh My!

  1. About 5 years ago, my son started collecting those Mighty Beans and it drove me crazy! He had the ramp, the case and even Might Bean rubber clothes! Thank goodness the phase was short lived! Good luck!
    Paula

    P.S. I have moved to http://simplysandwich.net (in case you can’t find me on wordpress.com anymore.) 🙂

  2. Okay…update…the kids at school are now focused on Silly Bandz. My son has been on an absolute quest (no pun intended 🙂 ) for those things as he only has 2 and his street cred is probably in jeopardy!

Leave a Reply

