The Art of Juggling and Dropping Balls

Animation of 3 ball cascade , also known as a ...

Image via Wikipedia

     Practice makes perfect or so they say.  Well, I have practiced the art of juggling for years now and don’t know that I am getting any better at it. 

     Actually, instead of getting better, I seem to be getting worse.  Maybe it is because I am continually adding more balls to the mix before I have improved with ones I already have in my hands.

     The balls I am currently juggling are being a wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend, daycare provider, housekeeper, secretary, homework helper, soccer commissioner, writer, school volunteer, church volunteer, Freecycle moderator, Cub Scout leader and manager of all things Dora.  There is a part of me that loves every one of those things that I am juggling but I am finding it harder and harder to keep all the metaphorical balls in the air.

     I think there comes a time in everyone’s life where we begin to take stock of where we are, where we are going and how we want to get there.  I am definitely at that point and recently discovered that, in order to pursue opportunities and to keep myself & my family sane, it is time to start passing some of the balls on to other jugglers who will hopefully pick them up and run with them.  The hard part is going to be not picking up new balls in their place!

     Sometimes the art and challenge of juggling isn’t just keeping all the balls in the air but also deciding when it is time to set some down in order to improve the show. 

     How many balls are you juggling?  Is it time to re-evaluate?

This entry was posted in Self Discovery and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Art of Juggling and Dropping Balls

  1. Kathleen says:

    Ooh–this is like reading my own life back at me. 🙂

  2. Laurie says:

    Remember that no matter how many or how few balls you have in the air, don’t forget your individual self in the mix. You need to remember who you are other than only in relation to somebody else’s someone. And always remember that you are a child of God.

  3. Lies says:

    I figured that moving abroad and thereby leaving some of my “balls” behind, I’d have more time to re-evaluate… turns out that it doesn’t really work that way 🙂 (not in the least because the balls are so easily replaced). But as Laurie says – the one ball to keep in the air at all times is yourself. And hey, juggling can be quite fun at times!

  4. I, like you, have waaaay too many balls to juggle! Sometimes I would like to throw them over the fence! On a positive note, juggling can bring joy when it is done well!Thanks for the post!

  5. bronxboy55 says:

    At the risk of generalizing, I think we who tend to be jugglers feel guilty when we drop even one ball. We get tired, irritable, and complain (to ourselves) about being unappreciated — but deep down we must think we’re responsible for all of the things we’re doing, and that we’re supposed to be doing them. Otherwise, how did we get to this stage of juggling lunacy in the first place?

Leave a Reply

