The Big Yellow Bus

School Bus Stop Ahead sign

Image via Wikipedia

 

     The first day of school, what a fabulous day.  So much preparation goes into this highly anticipated day.  We outfit the kids with new clothes and shoes, buy all of the right school supplies and wait with bated breath to receive “the letter” which then starts a chain reaction of phone calls and e-mails to find out which children will be in the same class.  It’s all so exhilarating.  

     The morning arrives and excitement, mixed with a little nervous trepidation, fills the air.  Everyone is dressed, fed and packs slung on their backs.  We walk out to wait for the big, yellow bus and exchange hugs as I provide words of encouragement.  I watch them hop aboard while waving and wishing them well.   

     I walk slowly back into the house, close the door and proceed to do my happy dance!  Wahoo!  School days are here again.  Please don’t get me wrong.  I love my children and I love the carefree days of summer but I do look forward to getting back into a routine and gaining just a tiny bit of “me” time again.  I’m not alone here in the house, I still have my little girl (19 mos) and another little girl (2.5) in my care but…they take naps!  

     I have set a few goals for myself this school year.  I plan to get to the gym several times a week and hope that the new routine will also help me to do a better job of meal planning.  I feel so much better about myself when I am eating well and getting in shape, it changes my whole outlook on life.   

     I also have a list of projects to complete…paint the hall bathroom, organize and purge the kitchen cabinets, attempt to sort, organize and purge the kids toys, etc.  There is something so freeing about getting rid of our clutter.  

     Our house, while not filthy, has not been properly cleaned or organized for about 2 months now.  When ever I attempted to clean and organize one room, it seemed as though the kids were busy messing up another.  Now I can clean a room and actually enjoy the results… at least until the big, yellow bus comes back.  

What are your feelings on the kids getting back to school?  Do you, like me, have any plans for yourself?  I’d love to hear what all of you are up to and maybe I’ll get a few more ideas for myself!  

This entry was posted in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Big Yellow Bus

  1. Kim Pugliano says:

    I’m jealous. I still have ONE MORE DAY of vacation. Oh but tomorrow…

  2. Mindless Rambler says:

    Here in Scotland our kids went back on the 17th so I’m two weeks into my happy dance. I so chuckled when I read that because that was me too. Like you I love having my girls home and I did actually miss them when they returned this year but it was oh so good to have routine back.

    Again like you my house is not filthy but the normal routine of chores did lapse somewhat so I think I’ve spent the last 2 weeks getting that all back on track. Today – well I moved the bedroom furniture round and I mean a total move around by 180 degrees, it was worth the effort I like it better and what better way to get vacuumed and get rid of the dust bunnies behind things.

    As for other plans I did tell myself I would get out with my camera more but so far not yet, we shall see. Love your blog!

    • jenkline75 says:

      Thank you! I’m really enjoying it. I love the idea of rearranging the furniture. I’ve tried that before but, after an hour of moving things around, I always go back to what I had originally. 🙂

  3. denverlori says:

    Big happy dance here! My three have been back for a whole month already! My house needs a deep, deep clean, but my focus has been primarily on getting a new blog up and running! That has been a huge, wonderful experience so far!

  4. Woot! Woot! Dancing in California this week too! I really enjoy hanging out in the summer with the kids but there is something so comforting about “back-to-school” time! I love getting back into routines; getting to sleep earlier, all of us eating together, my daily walking and yes, the meal planning! =)
    Paula

  5. Lisa says:

    I love this post! Though we are only beginning the “first day of school” stuff here w/ our little 3 yr old, I do always welcome fall. Doesn’t it seem like a “new year”? I often, like you, make “resolutions” starting in Sept. I can see a happy dance in our future! 😉

Leave a Reply

